2010 Targets

1 01 2010

I’ve been thinking alot about my riding lately, why I do it and what I want to achieve. A very good friend of mine, asked me a simple question…”What is more important, the weight loss or the distance?”. Thanks, B.

The short answer is this…neither. My goal is and must remain improved cardiovascular fitness. Everything else follows from that. I don’t have cholesterol problems, nothing wrong with my kidneys or liver. I don’t smoke, I rarely drink, I don’t do drugs. I just have too much upper body fat, which I’m pretty sure can be explained away as

Energy In > Energy Out

I always ate too much and didn’t do enough exercise. As a result of not doing enough exercise, I have poor cardiovascular fitness and too much fat. Truth be told, I really don’t think I eat all that badly, except when I’m sick and then it’s comfort food all the way.

1. Eat healthier. There is always something I can cut back on, like biscuits and cakes at work. If nothing else, a healthy diet is always a good idea.

2. Ride, ride, ride. The direct route to work is about 5½ kms, the long route 10. I always work a minimum of 7 days a fortnight, so that’s at least 70kms a week. Not that I ride to work everyday. I should, but I don’t. I don’t ride when I finish at midnight, in winter once it gets too dark, or when it is pouring. Saying that, this is Australia and we are in drought. So for my 2010 goal, I’m setting a target which I think is very gettable.

5200kms

This is a mere 100kms a week, or a tad over 14kms a day. Should be childs play.

3. Additional goals for 2010 include:

  • Goal weight 80kgs (176lbs)
  • Complete 50km in under 2 hours (31.25mi) Achieved 19 Jan 2010.
  • Complete 100km in under 4 hours (62.5mi) Achieved 29 Dec 2009.
  • Complete 250km ride (156.25mi)
  • Achieve Nouveau Randonneur Award from Audax Australia. Not going to attempt this.
  • 3 x 30@30. That’s 3 rides of 30kms at an average of at least 30km/hr. Thanks to ajh for the idea
  • Ride 5 consecutive days @ min 30kms a day. Achieved 20 Mar 2010.

4. Attempt (and hopefully complete) 100 pushups, 200 situps and 25 pullups programs.

5. Run 5kms, without dying or complaining about my ankles or knees Achieved 30 Mar 2010.

Actions

Information

One response

4 03 2010
4 simple goals « chrisfit2009

[…] I’ve set myself a couple of additional goals for this month. All of them are from my 2010 goals list and they […]

Leave a Reply

