Cloth Tape

17 02 2010

About a month ago, I decided to buy a mirror for my bike. After looking at a few options, I opted for the Zefal Spin, a foldaway mirror that looked quite nifty.

Once I was home, I set about installing it. I removed the endcap on my drop bars, cut away the excess bar tape, and screwed in the mirror. The screw is one of those that widens as you turn the screw, thus locking it into the bar. Problem is, no matter how much I tighten the screw, the mirror still seems to slip out a little. While it probably won’t fall out on the road, I figured I needed to secure it better.

The solution – cloth tape. You might call it gaffa tape, or duct tape, but it is the same stuff. Why did I use cloth tape? Well, while I was thinking of the best solution, I remembered an article I had read about the many uses of cloth tape on a ride. Replace many with 10, and cloth with duct, and everyone is happy.

At first, I wasn’t keen on the idea because cloth tape tends to be sold here in 3 inch wide rolls, which isn’t very travel friendly. Yesterday however, I came across a 1 inch wide roll, which fits beautiful in my seat bag.

So now, with a little bit of tape, I’m happy with how the mirror is secured to the bike.

The only problem is, I’m not happy with the mirror. I find that the vision isn’t great and my arms are always in the way. I don’t want to have to move anything but my head to use the mirror, and when I do, I want a decent look at what’s behind me.

I’ll be taking the tape with me on my rides from now on.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 02 2010
Dave

What we used to do with our dirt bikes is to wrap the handle of a screwdriver
or similar tool with a 1/4-1/2″ of the tape. That way you don’t have to take the entire roll 🙂

19 02 2010
Darryl

Sounds like an interesting set up. Maybe the mirror’s not working for a reason and someone is trying to tell you to keep focused on what’s ahead instead of behind…..hahahaha. Keep up the riding and the blogging. Looking forward to more.

Leave a Reply

