Running Goals

6 03 2010

I blogged recently about my first run in along time. A measly 1.26kms in a not too disgraceful time of about 6½ minutes. Two days after the event and my legs still ache. Since I haven’t been able to go for a ride since then, I can’t attribute it to any other cause.

And it has me thinking. When I first started riding, I would be sore for a couple of days or so after short rides (less than 5kms), but now I can do a metric century with an hour recovery the following day. When I first started riding, I’d head straight for the shower on arrival at my destination because I’d be dripping with sweat. Now, I can just towel down after a short ride and I’m right to go. For longer rides, or on very hot days, I’ll still jump in the shower, but I don’t have to the second I walk in the door.

So I improved – but slowly. It wasn’t until I started setting myself goals that I really started to improve. At first they were small goals – get to work in under twenty minutes, get out to the uni and back in a single ride, get over the hill with zero stops…that sort of thing. And so I’ve already set my first running goal – 2.5kms by months end in 11½ minutes. It’s a SMART goal.

But I know my own mind. I need more than a short term goal to keep me motivated. So, I’m setting another SMART goal, this one medium term.

Complete the Lake to Lagoon Fun Run (September 2010) in under 1 hour. I’ve never done a fun run before, and I’m yet to be convinced that “fun run” isn’t a oxymoron.

My zero run was at an average speed of 11.25kph. I don’t think that an hour at 9.5kph is unrealistic with six months training.

What do you think?

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 03 2010
ajh

I think that having a fun run (and it will be fun, so not an oxymoron) on your calendar really helps. I try to have one on mine all the time. My first fun run was the 2006 Run For The Kids which had about 20,000 entrants – it was a real buzz.
I think your goal time is very achievable, just make sure you increase your run distance gradually. No doubt that running is much higher impact than cycling, all of my injury niggles stem from running I think, but there is also no doubt that it is also a much bigger test for your willpower, mental strength and cardio-vascular ability (in my opinion anyway). I think that a mixture of running, cycling, strength training and maybe even some time in the pool (which I’ve been pretty slack about recently) is a great mixture.

6 03 2010
chrisfit2009

I’m very conscious of the high impact nature of jogging, especially on those of us with a big frame.

I’m planning on repeating the 1.26km loop I did the other day until the end of next week. Then adding half a km for the next week, and then another half km for the last full week of March. Then a couple of days off before a shot at the target run on the 31st.

After that, it’ll be a slow increase to 10k’s over the next 6 months.

I need to get some running started so that when summer rolls around again, I can add swimming to the mix and work towards my goal of completing a triathlon in 2011.

7 03 2010
Bryan

Good luck on the running goals and the link to my article. I was forced to run when I was in the military and never liked it. When I went through Officer Candidate School I got into pretty good running shape but a couple of years later bone spurs my running days. Now it’s just cycling and I’m OK with that.

Leave a Reply

