Numbers

15 03 2010

1940 That’s how many metres I ran today. Which means I successfully stepped up to week 2 of my March jogging program. If I can get through 4 more runs this week at the same length, and without any significant loss in time, I’ll step up to 2.5kms next week – keeping me on track for my month end running goal.

For the stats – 1.94km in 10m07s (11.51kph or 5m13s/km). This is well on track to succeed at my month end goal of 2.5km in 11.5min.

92.3 That’s how many kgs I weighed when I stepped on the scales on my birthday. Not good enough as far as I am concerned, because this is a weight gain of 800grams. To be honest, I suck at sticking to a diet, but I’m not convinced that’s the cause. I actually think I am eating too much before a ride. In the last fortnight, I’ve had a birthday bbq, birthday cake, a wonderfully heavy French meal on a faux Parisian getaway, three beers and two days of carbo loading. And it’s the carbo loading that really does it – I’m not expending anywhere as near as much energy on the bike as I’m putting in. Plus I have been “refuelling” afterwards. It’s not that I don’t work hard during a ride, but it just doesn’t take that two days of loading to do a 100km anymore. A hearty meal the night before and I’m set.

35 Thanks to the inexorable march of time, that’s how old I am now. Dammit. Can’t I skip a birthday just once?

26 The number of push-ups I did in the initial exhaustion test for the 100 pushups program. I’m hoping to get through to Week 3 this time before I hang my head in shame.

16 The number of days before the month ends and find out if I have reached my goals.

5 The number of consecutive mornings I am going to ride before work (for at least an hour) starting tomorrow. No excuses, no fails. I have to get up early for a 6am start anyway, so an extra hour won’t make too much difference, especially when I can have afternoon naps all week. I’m not overly keen about riding in the dark, but it will probably be less difficult than riding in the afternoon.

Actions

Information

One response

15 03 2010
Andrew(AJH)

Well done on the running! Keep it up, it’ll help you shift that weight.

I’ve only ever carbo-loaded when I did my marathon in 2007, I’ve never intentionally carbo-loaded for a ride, for the longer rides I take a couple of bars with me (I like the Cadel Evans Mountain Mix bars).

Leave a Reply

