Mad May

1 05 2010

I’ve been in two minds during April.

On one hand, I’m loving running, and am really enjoying the improvements that have come from more frequent runs. I’m taking a lot of inspiration and strength from my successes, and they are driving me to push myself further.

On the other hand, I’m not happy that I’ve had such limited time on the bike. I only had 7 rides in April for a meagre 344.5km (215mi). I love being out on the bike, but a string of flats recently has frankly, just pissed me off, and put me off.¬† But looking back on the figures for April has made me eager to put in some big numbers in May .

So saying that, I’ve decided to have “Mad May”. I’m not quite sure how I’m going to do it, but I’m setting a myself some tough goals for May

1. Reach 2600kms on the bike my months end. This means I need to do 828kms in May. If I can do it, I’ll hit 50% if my yearly goal with 7 months to go. I figure I need a buffer before winter sets in. There is a caveat here…I also have to do at least 17 rides in May, so I need to average at least 50km (31mi) per ride.

2. Run 100kms in May, including at least four 10km runs, and one genuine attempt at 15km . This will be equal to all of my mileage to date. If I can do this, I’ll sign up for the half marathon in August.

3. Hit 85kgs by months end. This is the hard one on the list. I’m bang on 90kgs now, and so even with the added workload, I’m going to have to really watch my diet. And that brings me to my next goal…

4. No chocolate, biscuits or desserts in May. If goal 3 was hard, this is almost impossible. And cruel. Perhaps “Miserable May” is a more apt description.

5. 50 consecutive sit-ups, 75 consecutive push-ups by end of the month.

I think this is going to be a long, hard month. I have to get my diet right, or I am going to be exhausted and run-down. On my part, it will mean more commitment and dedication than ever before. It will also mean more hours away from home. How do I explain that to the wife?

Actions

Information

One response

1 05 2010
Andrew(AJH)

Wow, they are tough goals. Don’t overdo it and injure yourself, will you!

Still 10kms more than me this month! 800+ in a month, gulp!

Leave a Reply

