Worst. Month. Ever.

31 05 2010

What an absolutely dismal month. I failed to achieve a single one of my monthly goals. I missed at least a dozen opportunities to get out and do something.My bike spent a few days in the shop. I spent a week feeling chesty and blocked up. I failed to demonstrate any real drive or commitment at all this month, whilst succeeding in blaming the cold weather and short days for just about everything.

Riding:

Total (kms) 253.72
Total (time) 09:18:06
Av. Speed (kph) 27.283
Longest Ride 72.84
No. of rides 7

50km Rides = 2
50mi Rides = 0
100km Rides = 0

Running:

Total (kms) 85.83
Longest Run 14.34
No. of runs 10

5km Runs = 5
10km Runs = 4
15km Runs = 1

May Goals Achieved: None
2010 Goals Achieved: 0
YTD Ride: 2025.62 kms (38.95%)

Weight: 88.1kg

Summary:

So for the first time this year, I have reached a month end behind my cycling goal. About 140kms behind. Cyclingwise, I’ve had a shocker. I haven’t been on the bike for almost two weeks now. Everytime I think about it, I just get bummed at the idea of having to change a tube again. I can’t wait to get a pair of Gatorskins. If they don’t stop the flats, I don’t know what will.

While it’s been a poor month on the bike, I’m happy with my running. I ran 85kms this month, completed four 10km runs, and made a serious attempt at 15kms. Had I taken a slightly different path, my 14.3km run would have easily been 15, I had the legs. I’m not planning on exceeding 15kms in June, but will be happy with at least one 10km a week and one 15km a fortnight. I could have easily run 100kms. My minimum run distance is just under 6km now – that is to say, I never do less than this.

Weight-wise, I’ve stayed below 90kgs for the whole month, and dropped as low as 87.4kgs at one point. I’ve had a very ordinary last fortnight, and so I’ve popped back up to 88.1 (still the lowest in years).

I’ve ordered some new shoes, and will have new Gatorskins in a fortnight. I will have a better June!

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 05 2010
Andrew(AJH)

Hey, I’ve been blaming the short days and bad weather for everything too!

Here’s to June being better for both of us!

1 06 2010
Al

Don’t lose sight of the big picture – the effort is more important than the occasional inconsistency. I have been using the Gatorskins this year, and no flats. However, I never got flats on my old Conti GP 4000s, either.

That said, I like the 4000s better, the ‘Skins feel vague to me.

As for your workouts, “don’t let a bend in the road be the end of the road”. Hang in there, you’ll turn it around.

Leave a Reply

