Couch to 5k – Week 2

5 03 2011

A weekly series by guest poster Dr G, as she prepares for her first ever 10k fun run.

Couch to 5K is a 9 week beginner’s running plan, designed for people who are just taking up running.

Couch to 5k – Week 2. “Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. Five-minute cooldown walk.

So, if we go by calendar weeks (you know, the old-fashioned, pre-C25k ‘weeks’), I’m due for another blog entry. The happy difference between calendar weeks and C25K ‘weeks’ is that you can fit four attempts into every second calendar week!

This week, I attempted week 2 day 1 on Saturday. Because I was working a shift that finished at midnight, I crawled out of bed super-early, drank two glasses of water and went back to bed to await appropriate rehydration. I had a small breakfast, waited 20 minutes, and was disturbed to find that not only was the sun up, there were people everywhere. Oh well.

I managed runs 1, 2 and 3; fell about 5 seconds short on run 4; about 15 seconds short on run 5, and about 45 seconds on run 6. I was annoyed; making all this effort to get up early only to fail miserably on my first attempt at week 2!

Onwards and upwards – after all, I was privileged to have four attempts at this week’s runs. Monday, day 1 again (back to the safety of evenings) was much more successful. Although I ‘ran’ at little more than walking pace, I completed the time requirements, which was progress. A little too much dinner a little too recently didn’t help at all – the stitches were painful and bilateral – but I’d just watched ‘The Biggest Loser’ and was all psyched up not to make excuses!

Wednesday evening I was a little reluctant, until I got going. Fifty seconds or so into the first walk, the music stopped and my phone rang. I ignored it, but decided I’d better start running just in case it had messed up the program. It rang interminably, then (thankfully) the music started automatically. Then ‘ding – run’. Dammit – it had paused, and I’d already done an extra thirty seconds of running. Oh well, no excuses, character building and all that. A little bonus run. After that, I was in the zone, and managed to complete my normal course (hills and all) without any issues.

Friday evening – great guns. Actually thought I’d jogged faster than ever before, but not according to the stats. Although I did go further, so obviously the calculators are a little out.

The nerdy part of me (admittedly, that’s a big part) (ed. I think that’s the ONLY part) decided to take the iPhone calculations and make a little spreadsheet that will convert things into metric for me (ed. Dr G needs a Garmin or Polar). The results:

Day Distance (km) Walk Speed (kph) Run Speed (kph) Calories
W2D1 Sat 2.9 5.1 8.4 283
W2D1.1 Mon 2.9 6.5 7.9 248
W2D2 Wed 3.1 5.7 8.5 302
W2D3 Fri 3.2 5.7 8.3 285

So, steady progress. I’ve got a difficult work schedule for the next week – Sunday, I finish at midnight, and I’m not sure I’ll be confident to wander the streets. I’m sure I’ll think of something. Tune in next week to see if I’ve been brave enough to tackle week 3!

ed. Congratulations Dr G.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

