Marathon

22 05 2011

I’ve been thinking about marathons for a while now. It’s one of my yearly goals and even though I’ve slacked off a bit lately (ok, a lot) , I’ve still managed to do ok.

I heard (or read) somewhere once that “if you can run a half marathon, you can run a marathon”. That’s crap. I CAN run a half marathon, and there is no way I can run a full marathon. Today I read a similar thing, except it was 30kms, not 21.

Regardless of any of that, I feel that if I don’t start getting some structure into my running, I’ll fail miserably. And so, I am seriously considering following a formal training plan. Something that gets me out running at least 3 times a week with at least one long run.

But there are so many plans out there, and it’s confusing. Each professes to be the best (or at least better). Some are free, others paid. Some extol the benefits of simple mileage, others claim fartleks and cross training are key. I like the idea of simply clocking up the miles but I can see the benefits in speed training and hills. I’m not sure I want to have to worry about target heart rate training or anything like that. Some plans have a maximum long run of 30kms, others 40kms.

SO for those of you out there who have used a training plan, which one did you use and why? Did it work for you or was it more trouble than it was worth?

Am I better of just running as much as I can, making sure I have a couple of rest days each week and a big run every weekend with slowly increasing miles?

The marathon I’m looking at is the 2011 Blackmores Sydney Marathon on 18 September, which gives me 18 weeks to train. That’s 4 months to double my distance and improve my speed.

Thoughts?

Also today, I entered the 2011 Sydney City2Surf. I’ve qualified for the SH2 start pack (courtesy of a sub 90min 2010 C2S), which means I’ll be starting in a smaller group. I’m hoping that in itself will allow me to save a few minutes of my time from last year as I won’t have to slow down so much for the crowd or corners.

Actions

Information

One response

25 05 2011
Twocatz

For your first marathon I reckon you need to concentrate on one thing only – getting from start to finish. Too many people set unrealistic time goals and then wonder why they didnt achieve them.

I would look at all the free online programs for the beginner and then make a couple of sensible decisions based on how many days a week do you want to run, how many k’s per week do you think your body can handle, and how much time can you put into your training.

You should try and fit in one long SLOW run at the weekend, a mid week longish run and at least 1 or 2 shorter runs that can be run at a slightly quicker pace to the mid week long run.

I have my program set up so that the weekly distance per 2 week blocks doesnt really vary much, just balanced a little differently to take account of the long long run every 2nd weekend.

You should try and get in at least 2 or 3 runs over 30k but you dont need to run 40k distances. Remember you are trying to build your body up not break it down.

I am more than happy to help you put something together

Leave a Reply

