The long lost Dr. G

13 06 2011

A weekly series by guest poster Dr G, as she prepares for her first ever 10k fun run.

Couch to 5K is a 9 week beginner’s running plan, designed for people who are just taking up running.

This morning I attempted my first 10km. After my widely-publicised foray into the world of running, a close friend and newly evangelical runner convinced me to ‘have a go’ at a local(ish) 10km run.

 Some context – since my last appearance, the running’s tailed off a bit. Partly due to my having moved many, many miles from home to start a new job, and no longer having my ‘coach’ in daily proximity. Happily, in my new city is my aforementioned evangelical friend. She lost 45kg last year, through diet and exercise, and took up running.

 While my C25k efforts tailed off in the wake of lots and lots of Emergency Department night shifts, my spirit is still willing. I still have aspirations for 10km in September, to prove a point if nothing else!

 So, this morning at 0517, I dragged myself from my cozy bed, packed a change of clothes (knowing I would get a drenching in the forecast downpour) and drove the 1.5 hours to the start line. Totally suboptimal preparation (i.e., no convincing running efforts for four weeks), less than ideal weather, and generalised patheticness meant that a large component of the 10km was walked. My time reflected this. However, it was a learning experience, so I record here some notable facts about this morning:

 1) I have an age group code written on my calf in permanent marker, which makes me feel like a professional fun runner. It is hard to get off. That’s not the end of the world 🙂

 2) It poured the whole way. Poured. Freezing little icicles of rain. My shoes were not waterproof; wet socks give you cold feet and nasty, mobility-limiting blisters on your toes.

 3) It was a ‘there-and-back’ track, meaning I was quite convincingly lapped by quite a large number of people. About 198 of them. Including the intensivist. Which brings me to point 4.

 4) People are awesome. People kept giving me encouragement – everyone from scary-looking people who did the track in 35 mins to little-old-ladies who took 120 minutes. And the intensivist. The old me would consider this patronising; in actual fact everyone was lovely. Especially the two guys finishing the half marathon who collected me for the final 400m and wouldn’t let me quit. They even slowed down for me, and wouldn’t leave me behind. My appalling finish was given a bit of street cred by crossing with two extraordinarily fit-looking men!

 5) Next year, I’m going to do the 10km in under 1hr at this event, then attempt C2S in August. In 2013, wherever I may have ended up career-wise, here’s hoping I’m in sufficient shape to do the half marathon up here again, to reward the collective faith of today’s runners!

 6) I hated every minute of it, until it was finished. Now I love it. And I’m more motivated.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

